top of page

AWOL

Absent without leave. I wish I could say it was the busy holiday season that kept me from blogging but........

.......it wasn't. It was pushing the rock up the hill.

But, recently, two events helped shift my perspective.

A second grader from Battle Creek Elementary School stopped at the door in the morning, when we were getting ready for our first class, and exclaimed, "You are the scientists. I can tell by your white coats. I will be in your class in a couple of years! I can hardly wait!"

Lesson #1: All good things take time and are definitely worth the wait.

We recently taught the Energy module to a group of 4th graders at Poplar Bridge. They learned all about energy being conserved - one type of energy just gets transformed into another.

Lesson #2 - Pushing the rock higher up the hill will be transformed into greater potential energy to do greater things.

Thus, the energy put into doing something great is never wasted.

bottom of page